Tuesday, December 6, 2022
55.1 F
Larchmont
HomeRANTShout-Out/Complaint Department

Shout-Out/Complaint Department

We bring back the place to lodge a complaint or shout-out superb service. Let us all know what’s worth a visit and what to possibly avoid…when last published, much discussion about a pool…

 

 

40 COMMENTS

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

40 Comments
newest
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
jon sawyer
jon sawyer
February 20, 2010 5:28 PM

Lot of talk around town about the town and village of Mamaroneck taking over Hampshire making it a public facility. Yeah that’s right, that’s what these boards need, more to do, because they are doing such a good job with what’s on their plate now. Let’s see them put up a traffic light well, before we move on to more complex issues like whats to be done with the 52 pounds of beef tongue in the Hampshire fridge.
Then there will be the difficulty of maintaining the scenic beauty and quaint charm, and still finding places to put banks.

Jill
Jill
January 7, 2011 5:06 PM

It’s a shame Stop & Shop seems to have a lock on grocery stores in this area. I agree that they’re unpleasant, dirty and not a broad enough selection (especially of healthy and fresh foods). Where I grew up in the Phila suburbs, and many places we visit, there are such nicer grocery stores!!

lmonter
lmonter
January 7, 2011 6:18 PM

Another winter, another snowstorm when corner homeowners are NOT shoveling a space from their sidewalk out to the street! No whining about ‘snowdrifts too high’ – the upsides of having a corner lot are many, the downside is that when it snows, you have more work to do than your neighbors. Strollers and seniors don’t have a hope, and even regular folks shouldn’t be expected to scale Mount Inconsiderate. And if you disappear every winter for warmer climes, HIRE SOMEONE to shovel your sidewalks, please – the rest of us are slogging it out here.

Murray
Murray
January 6, 2011 7:20 PM

Also, the Larchmont Stop n Shop is hell hole. It’s filthy, the workers are angry, management is a joke. The New Rochelle Stop n Shop on Palmer is not too far away and the difference is night and day. Clean store, pleasant people, better produce and shorter deli lines too.

Murray
Murray
January 6, 2011 7:15 PM

Mike Ross,
That intersection of Weaver and Forest behind Murray Ave school is very dangerous. If you try to make a left turn from Weaver onto Forest, you cannot see the oncoming traffic because of the way the Weaver bends. I don’t think people are ‘driving as if they own the road’ there, they’re just trying to make it as fast as they can while the coast is clear. I always drive slowly when approaching that light in case someone is making a blind left turn ahead. There really needs to be a left arrow there, esp considering all the kids in the area. It’s an accident waiting to happen.

Mike Ross
Mike Ross
January 5, 2011 2:42 PM

What IS it with drivers in this town? The number of times I’ve nearly been wiped out in the last few weeks is outrageous. Two places in particular:

1. Heading up Weaver St. from the BPR towards the firehouse. Waiting at a red light to cross Palmer, light turns green, I go – and someone coming in the opposite direction, waiting to make a left from Weaver onto Palmer, turns right across the front of me. Brake, swerve, curse. They drive like they have a green left turn arrow – except of course, they don’t!

2. Coming down Weaver from the Hutch towards the firehouse. Intersection with Murray. Number of times someone has turned left out of Murray in front of me, forcing me to emergency brake and swerve, is ridiculous.

People, learn to bloody drive! And don’t drive like you own the road and expect everyone else to get out your way; some day you’ll meet someone with the same bad attitude and you’ll regret it.

And while I’m having a whine, why do so many of the checkout folks at Stop & Shop seem to be the dregs of the earth? The folks in Trader Joes are unfailingly excellent, but the amount of ‘attitude’ I’ve experienced at the other place is… discouraging.

Also concerned
Also concerned
December 24, 2010 10:33 AM

Totally agree with Loren. Who ever parks the dark Acura MDX there (every day) is asking for trouble. I have seen many near misses, and its bad in both directions. There should be no parking from 68 North Chatworth on up the hill until visibility improves.

Disgusted Me2
Disgusted Me2
August 27, 2010 4:05 PM

Dear Disgusted,

Let’s keep this simple, perhaps you’ll understand. Next year we vote the pool money out of the School District budget and into the Town budget. School taxes go down and school users who want can rent pool use from the Town. Same people paying money, but paid and divided differently.

As to who knew what, when, a mystery. As to what is known now by some of our municipal/school leaders, another mystery. Perhaps you may know more than most, but unfortunately put your view of your entitlement before thinking.

Disgusted
Disgusted
August 27, 2010 3:28 PM

Dear Disgusted Too and Disgusted Me2,
A separate town pool would certainly be a thought, but please don’t expect your YEAR LONG, not summer long, family permit to cost you a mere $475.00. In order to pay for that luxury, expect to pay at least that amount per person.

Let’s try to remember that the Recreation Dept. “rents” the pool in order to run recreation programs, which includes usage through the “family permit.” (And I have been told by school insiders that they are allegedly less than cooperative in paying those contracted rents. ) The pool is a school facility, just like the football field or Manchester field. If the recreation dept wanted to use the football field or baseball field for a program, shouldn’t they pay rent for that as well? Yes, of course. And, if a school team needed that field, would a rec program take priority? Of course not.

So, since this is the “complaint department,” I will complain, does ousting the school swim team from their facility, for what is now planned as 4 weeks (or half of their season) sound right? Of course not.

If I, part of the general public, have known about the asbestos for 5 months, then clearly the school knew (for a lot longer) that asbestos removal was part of the project. They should have planned around the 2 school teams and done the work between March and August. And if the HMX parents had a say on behalf of their children, then clearly the safe alternative is July or August.

Disgusted Me2
Disgusted Me2
August 16, 2010 8:38 PM

Town residents pay school taxes for the pool
The TOM uses Town taxes to rent the pools from the school
TOM residents then pay to use the pool at the school
Damn the residents, its government that counts
>:(

Asbestos not in plan; school gets C in project planning
TOM agenda say school wants exemption from law; school gets D in conduct
Town and school hide resolution; Town gets F but in politics that’s an A
Damn the residents, its government that counts
>:(

• C O M M U N I T Y • C A L E N D A R •